JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am new to reloading and just bought some Rainier 135 Grain FP copper plated in .40 Cal. I am having a little diffucultly in finding load data and thought I would throw it out there for suggestions.

Thanks.

I plan on using these with a Glock model 22, mainly for plinking and possibly USPSA matches.

Are you using the factory barrel? I dont load plated for any poly rifled guns, but you might want to look into if it is safe or not to shoot plated through it, because I've read some things that say the plating builds up in the rifling on glocks and other poly rifled barrels, just like lead, and can cause a Kaboom. I don't know if this is true or not, but just something you may want to look into if you're using the factory barrel.

Thanks for the info. I knew about the lead in the poly riflings but thought/was hoping the copper plated would solve that problem. I will look into it b4 blowing up my barrel.

There is some good info. on the hodgdon webpage, thanks.

Dang. I have to buy at least decent quality bullets. They don't cost that much more and when you consider all of your work starting with the tumbler and case trimmer and reamer, and then adding your primers and powder, a few cents per bullet just doesn't seem worth it to me. ??

I also won't buy off-brand defensive bullets. I could/won't buy Montana Gold JHP 9mm for $100 per k, because if I watch long enough on gunbroker and local stores and online, I can buy 1k of top notch Speer or Hornady etc JHP for $160 or so per k. That's $.06 per round more and I may be betting my life on the bullet performance?

Just my stupid opinion. :D

$.02

Glock 40s and copper plated bullet stories are like Beretta slide breaking. It just isn't a problem if you read and do it right.