JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hi everyone,
I know there are many expert reloaders here. I just begin to reload my own ammo. I am new to this and dont know any good recipe for 30-06. If this is not a rude question, can anyone suggest me some good data?

I have a 1:10 twist Sako 30-06 with Zeiss 3x9-40 scope. I just cant get a 2-inch group at 100 yards. I brought it new and it was guaranteed by the manufacturer to hit MOA. the bullets I used was loaded for my friend's Steyr Model M. They performed well on his rifle but not mine, so I want ask if anyone will be kind enough to give me a direction (here or PM) in power and bullet weight. I have IMR 4895 and 165 Barnes TSX on hand now and plan to buy 168 Nosler NBT soon.

thanks everyone

For my .06 using 165 gr. I use 57 Gr's. of IMR 4831. Your friends ammo was probably loaded with a die that was set for his rifle. Pick up a good reloading manual if you don't already have one. Speer has good info on all commercial calibers. There is a jump point when the bullet leaves the cartridge and then contacts the lans and grooves, there is a process for adjusting your bullet seating depth to minimise this jump. Sooting the bullet of a UNPRIMED and UNCHARGED cartridge then inserting into the bore and closing the bolt will show if you have contacted the rifling. Adjust your die until you have no sign of contact. PLEASE read then read again your reloading manual first regarding this technique, and remember after you have set yours to match your rifle that its set up for YOUR rifle and may not be safe to hand out to others with the same caliber. Good luck and happy shooting,, John.

That gun should deliver that accuracy with factory ammo.