Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Legal to sell handgun FTF to person under 21 in WA?

Discussion in 'General Firearm Discussion' started by Caveman Jim, Apr 8, 2013.

  1. Caveman Jim

    Caveman Jim West of Oly Springer Slayer 2016 Volunteer

    Messages:
    5,260
    Likes Received:
    8,929
    Is this legal? Had a person wanting to buy my XDM 40 that is 19. Got to find out but leary non the less.
    Thanks for any advise. Jim Sr.

    I did find this but still leary.

    "If the purchase is from a private individual... yes, if you are 18 or over

    Federal law imposes the following restrictions aimed at younger persons:

    A person must be 21 years of age to purchase a handgun or handgun ammunition, and 18 years of age to buy a rifle or shotgun or ammunition, from a retail firearm dealer. (GCA, 1968)

    Washington - A commercial firearms dealer may not deliver a pistol to a purchaser who is prevented from possessing a pistol, or who is under 21 or to one who he or she has reasonable cause to believe is a drug addict, habitual drunkard, or of unsound mind. No person shall deliver a pistol to any person under 18 or to one who he or she has reasonable cause to believe has been convicted of a felony, or who is a drug addict, an habitual drunkard or of unsound mind."
     
  2. Nwcid

    Nwcid Yakima and N of Spokane Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,593
    Likes Received:
    1,480
    Short answer is yes.

    Long answer is;

    RCW 9.41.040: Unlawful possession of firearms ? Ownership, possession by certain persons ? Restoration of right to possess ? Penalties. section (2)(a)(iii)

    Little less critical, RCW 9.41.240: Possession of pistol by person from eighteen to twenty-one.

    Federal law is the one that only allows handguns to be sold to persons over 21. Assuming you do not have a Federal license and it is not going across state lines (would also be illegal) because that is what the Feds can control then you are legal. As I am sure you are aware laws are written to say what is illegal. WA has no law that makes it illegal to sell to a person over 18.
     
  3. Caveman Jim

    Caveman Jim West of Oly Springer Slayer 2016 Volunteer

    Messages:
    5,260
    Likes Received:
    8,929
    Cool, appreciate the responce Nwcid.
    I will demand a bill of sale also.
     
  4. Old as Dirt

    Old as Dirt Pacific NW Active Member

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    85
  5. mjbskwim

    mjbskwim Salmon,Idaho Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    10,408
    Likes Received:
    7,651
    BUT, the 18yo cannot posses the handgun off his property?(second link)
    So you would have to deliver it to his abode or place of business?
    I know there is some transport language in there someplace.
    RCW 9.41.042 Children — Permissible firearm possession.
    Unless an exception under RCW 9.41.042, 9.41.050, or 9.41.060 applies, a person at least eighteen years of age, but less than twenty-one years of age, may possess a pistol only:

    (1) In the person's place of abode;

    (2) At the person's fixed place of business; or

    (3) On real property under his or her control.
     
  6. Nwcid

    Nwcid Yakima and N of Spokane Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,593
    Likes Received:
    1,480
    Or if they are doing any of the items that I placed in red the exempt them from just those 3 places.

    So the buyer receives it then follows the exemptions......
     
    mjbskwim and (deleted member) like this.