Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Lee Dies, Hornady Press (single stage)

Discussion in 'Ammunition & Reloading' started by rrojohnso, Sep 22, 2011.

1. rrojohnso

rrojohnso Vancouver, WA Member

'Morn'n

So I am new to reloading - just gotta get that out there. I have a Hornady lock-n-load press; it's new, and has the stroke that 'toggles over.' I loaded the press with Lee's Collet die for neck resizing. I have read the instructions and the FAQ, but something just doesn't seem right!

I cleaned, then lubed the brass. I screwed the die into the press until it met the top of the ram stroke. I then screwed the die two full turns and locked the ring (note: the die is all the way into the press at this point - I can't screw the die any further down). When I raise the ram, the primer is poked out, and I feel a 'stop' on the lever. I put pressure on the lever and never feel the collet do it's job. When I measure the brass, the internal neck of the brass isn't opened up to take a new round. I feel like I am putting a ton of pressure on the ram, and when the brass comes out, the collet is still floating in the die.

Any advice? Do I need to try more pressure, or back the die back out?

Thanks! ~ Bobby

2. joken

joken Corvallis Bronze Supporter Bronze Supporter

With the shell holder place extend the ram to the top of it's stroke. Adjust your decapping/sizing die so the pin extends far enough to pinch the primer out of the case. Screw the die in until it touches the shell holder and then 1/4 turn more and lock it in place. You should be good to go. I hope this helps. Ken

3. deadshot2

deadshot2 NW Quadrant WA State Well-Known Member