JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hey NWF

I am always looking for new things to gravitate to. Guns have always been a big part of my life. i started shooting a young age 8. and have love firearms and the history that goes with them since then. I spent ten years in the NG for Washington and the Reserves here in Washington got to play around with a lot of different small arms. But enough of the chit chat.

My main purpose of this thread is to educate people on the dangers and the legal issues facing lasers, and drones. I have been in these hobbies for a while. I currently do build lasers for fun and my own personal enjoyment. I buy RFT or ready to fly quadcopters and such but still enjoy that hobby.

Laser are being cracked down on by the FDA who regulates them in the United States. Why the food and drug administration is in charge of them is any ones guess. But here is a few of the regulations that are in place and the fines are quite steep!

1. Lasers such as pointers, gun sites, are regulated to 5 mw. That is any thing that is commercially sold as a laser product. Does not matter if its is green, red, purple or what ever. Now that being said many have bought lasers from china of the last few years and the thing with green lasers they are not diode pumped by are modules. they take a IR diode usually 808 nm and pump it though a crystal to get green. usually 532nm its more complicated than that but that is the short. Now here is were it gets sticky. Because every one and their aunt have been buying these and handing them to kids we are limited to that 5mw.