JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am a student at LCC and have often had discussions with fellow students regarding conceal carry. Believe it or not...most students...including the extreme left leaning...believe in these rights. I guess even they see rights being taken away by the new environment of politics. Anyway, I by no means take credit for this article, but I do believe the frequent discussions around campus finally got attention and they addressed it. The following is copied from their newspaper site from Oct 29. Link:

<broken link removed>

The Baron's Den shooting Range plays host to LCC's concealed weapons certification course. The class is taught by Raye Gunter.

Licensed to carry

Firearms allowed on campus with concealed weapons permit
By: Brent Jones

Posted: 10/29/09

There is an ongoing debate over gun control at LCC. Current regulations ban firearms on campus, yet individuals who obtain a government permit are exempt from this rule.

There has been a lot of discussion and debate over the topic says Operations Manager of Public Safety Katherine Vos. "Firearms are not allowed here," Vos said. "However, if you have a concealed weapons permit you're allowed to carry."

According to Vos, when it comes to obtaining a concealed weapons permit individuals undergo a strict evaluation to ensure the safety of the public. "We're not too concerned with those folks that have concealed weapons," Vos said. "They're generally outstanding citizens. They've been scrutinized through the process to even get that concealed weapons permit."

While individuals with permits are allowed to carry guns on camps LCC board policy dictates that public safety officers are not provided with firearms. Many officers have concealed weapons permits but are not allowed to carry on campus.