JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am looking for an IWB holster for my Glock 26. I took a lot of the manufacturer recommendations from a previous thread and have loosely narrowed down my search. My big question is what are the advantages/disadvantages to kydex or thermo elastomer used for some holsters. I have no real experience with these. I do not want something that will mar the heck out of the gun's finish.

kydex stays open for one handed reholstering, essential. It also has better retention. If you don't want to mar the finish then don't carry it... and I digress, its a Glock

What Koda said, if you carry it your firearm is going to get dinged up, marred and scratched, even with suede liner there just isnt any way around it.

Thankfully its a glock, nice easy block of metal that can be painted/refinished should the wear really bother you. However a worn pistol is a very sexy thing. It shows its been used and carried but more importantly trusted.

Id say get a kydex holster of any kind and carry it without hesitation. Sure it's going to get bumps and bruses but those are all superficial it'll still run.

I vote for Kydex too. Yes my gun is worn in spots but that is like seeing a scar on a person - evidence he or she has lived a life. Guns are tools, and tools show wear. You'll get used to it! :)

Thanks guys. I will admit my being naïve when it comes to the marring or wear. I understand that there will be some wear, I just wasn't sure about the kydex causing damage such as wear grooves. Thank you for your help, I am now a little more educated.

I carry a G27 in a Stealthgear Onyx IWB holster.
The front is Kydex, the back is "VentCore".
VentCore is a porous synthetic that breathes, no stink yet.
When it gets dirty, I will remove the steel belt clips and throw it in the washer with a load of towles.