JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hi, I'm a newbie out here. A few days ago, a roaming coyote killed one of our pet cats, and apparently has been killing cats and dogs throughout the neighborhood lately. We live right on the Columbia river, a semi-rural area where there are lots of places for a coyote to hide. My question - if this animal comes on my property again (we have about a 1-acre lot) am I allowed to shoot it? I found RCW 77.36.030 that says I am, but don't know what local restrictions there might be on using e.g. a hunting rifle or other firearm here for this purpose. Thanks in advance.

You need a small game license. You also want to make sure you are allowed to discharge firearms where you live.

1 acre isn't that big of a space. You may want to use a shotgun and make sure you know where your bullets/pellets/slugs are going to end up if/when they exit your property.

Absolutely, as long as you can discharge a firearm safely. Coyotes are considered vermin, along with possums, raccoons, and various other small furry creatures. Slay them with impunity.

Also, there used to be a bounty on coyotes (Dad and I killed many when I was a boy). Might be still.

Degradation makes it OK to kill the yote.It did kinda ruin the cat,no?

As stated,just make sure you don't shoot the neighbors,they may shoot back.
Shoot from a higher vantage point so you are shooting down.
Or maybe someone will give info about traps.

Absolutely, as long as you can discharge a firearm safely. Coyotes are considered vermin, along with possums, raccoons, and various other small furry creatures. Slay them with impunity.

Also, there used to be a bounty on coyotes (Dad and I killed many when I was a boy). Might be still.