JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I loaded some 223 this evening in a progressive. Loading max charge 25g benchmark I have had no issues or pressure signs. I added more powder to the powder reservoir and didn't weigh the charge after that. After I loaded roughly 50 rounds I did a check and was at 25.8g. So I'm .8g past max recommended load. Is this safe to shoot? I've loaded quite a ways past max plenty of times but that's in small increments and seating bullet long. My gut says I'm fine to shoot these but looking for thoughts?

Your gut says it's fine...how do your fingers and eyes feel about it? Your gut will be okay. :cool:

I have some 223 loads that are now over max because the loading data has reduced the max charge over the years but agree with you, these loads were built up slowly and chronographed. I have no experience with Benchmark but if you want some rando dude on the internet's $.02 worth of opinion, I would most likely pull them. I tend to lean cautious at the reloading bench.

The few minutes to pull the bullets on 50 will cost how much in time?

Now consider the time it takes to go to the ER, or to have surgery, recovery, PT etc?

Just sayin'!

I am not familiar with benchmark, but there are many powders and accompanying load data where just 4 to 5 tenths of a grain separate a starting load from a maximum one. Considering you are almost a full grain over max, I would definitely pull them!

Some Qs: How long have you been loading? Did you start with a progressive? Do you have a single stage press? Far less likely to occur if you develop the habit of weighing every 10th charge on your scale. So a single stage is slower. Well...consider how slow the progressive made you over only 50 rounds.