JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So I know as a WA resident I can purchase long guns from an OR FFL without any issues.
That being the case, I have a pre-order for a long gun that I'm wanting shipped to an OR FFL where I would pick it up, but the company doing the pre-order has said it needs to go to a FFL in the state I reside. It's coming from Cope's Dist. in Ohio.

Am I missing something, or are they just being overly cautious?

So I know as a WA resident I can purchase long guns from an OR FFL without any issues.
That being the case, I have a pre-order for a long gun that I'm wanting shipped to an OR FFL where I would pick it up, but the company doing the pre-order has said it needs to go to a FFL in the state I reside. It's coming from Cope's Dist. in Ohio.

Are you saying they asked you, or was it just a statement? If it is a longgun, you can purchase in OR.

You can ship handguns. My new colt defender will be here tomorrow at a local FFL coming in from NY.

Could it be that they know WA has a tax on this type of transaction they do not want to be part of you not paying your taxes?

Are you saying they asked you, or was it just a statement? If it is a longgun, you can purchase in OR.

I was told it needed to be shipped to a FFL in the state I reside.

Perhaps in Ohio you can only purchase a firearm in the state you reside, so they assume all states are the same. But since they are a pretty big distributer, you would think once it shipped from them to a FFL, ANY FFL, they wouldn't care anymore.

A handgun must be transfered to you in the state you reside in. A long gun can be transfered in any state you are present in, if that state allows such a tansfer.