JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
As a Washington resident, I went to an oregon FLL today to perform a trade of firearms with an Oregon resident. I was looking to trade a handgun for a rifle. Much to our surprise, the FFL said it couldn't be done with both of us and the firearms there at the Oregon FFL. Was told the Oregon resident would need to travel to Washington, and then have the pistol shipped back to Oregon FFL, and we were looking at over a $100 in FFL fees.

From what I've been able to understand from this website and the web in general, we should have been able to move forward. Can anyone help shed light on this? Are we now to the point that trading a pistol for rifle between our neighboring states is really not an option if one wants to keep the costs down?

Thanks for any thoughts,

Jeff

As long as the recipient of the pistol was in his home state all should have been good. No LEGAL reason for it not to be okay, maybe the FFL has a policy against it or else doesn't understand the law.

He's wrong. A legal purchaser must buy/transfer an interstate handgun through a FFL in the purchaser's state of residence. You could have a FFL in your state of residence ship it to the FFL in the purchaser's state of residence, or you could directly ship the handgun via "common carrier" to the FFL in the purchaser's state of residence, or you can drive it "over the river" yourself to the FFL in the purchaser's state of residence.

Legal long gun purchases/transfers can be made outside the purchaser's state of residence through a FFL in the state of the purchase, provided the firearm is legal to own inside the purchaser's state of residence.

In either case above, a FFL is required to make the transfer/purchase.