JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I just inherited this double-barrel 12ga and have no clue what I'm looking at. I'm hoping some of you shotgun experts can tell me! It looks like the main marking where the barrel meets the receiver says "HLC" or something close to that, but I can't quite make it out.

20200418_154151.jpg 20200418_153846.jpg 20200418_153912.jpg 20200418_153556.jpg 20200418_153539.jpg 20200418_153618.jpg 20200418_153601.jpg

It looks like the main marking where the barrel meets the receiver says "HLC" or something close to that, but I can't quite make it out.

That's actually "E L G", and it's a Belgian proof mark for breech loading black powder guns. That means that it was originally proofed and rated for shotgun cartridges loaded with black powder.

I'm not an expert on those old gun, but I looked up similar info for a friend not too long ago.

Large quantities of shotguns like that came from Europe 100+ years ago. They were typically not expensive, and being that yours doesn't have other markings, I assume it's one of those, probably from Belgium or Spain. I wouldn't shoot modern ammo in it. If it's in good condition otherwise, I would think it would be fine to shoot carefully down-loaded ammo, or black powder loaded shells in.

Ah, "ELG"! Thanks for the info—I wasn't expecting it to be worth anything and definitely wasn't planning to shoot it. My father-in-law traded some crap for it a while back, so I thought it was just something cool to have. Thanks again for the history lesson.

I inherited a similar gun from my father. Mine certainly falls into the category described by CLT65, though mine has markings and I can trace it to the Basque region in Spain (Eibar). For what it's worth, the workmanship on yours looks finer than mine.