JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Is there anything wrong with this powder? In my Speer #14 reloading manual it's listed in a lot of loads between .223 and 45-70. I realize it might be a little hard to meter due to being flaked. I've only used it in 308 but it's been very consistent.

I'm new to rifle reloading but this was the only powder I could get hold of. I'm also about ready to pull the trigger on a progressive LNL so I'm interested how well it would work on 308 in that press.

I use it for 243, 45/70, 30-30, 223, 22-250 with no issues. I recall this being stick powder not flake though.

Chrikey!!
The first caller is correct, that is an extruded powder, NOT a flake powder; very important differences.
Metering..... Always with the metering where people get confused. Since you are new to reloading, pay attention to this part very carefully; 99% of the world gets this part wrong.

Extruded powder has it's burning rate controlled by geometry. "Metering" powder means you are loading by volume, pay attention to that word. Volume as in cups, ml, cc, NOT grains! They are not the same thing. All powder has a nominal burning rate, a nominal Bulk Density. That means it is impossible to ALWAYS have the same WEIGHT of powder, in the same VOLUME.
Despite what web ninjas may day to the contrary, due to the geometry controlled burn rate, cutting kernels does NOT significantly alter burning rate. So load away!

As a side warning about that powder/info. That manual is now quite old. That powder is now made by different folks than when Speer last did pressure testing themselves. The manufacturing plant is in the same location, but last summer was totally rebuilt and re-done. Don't expect nothing to have changed. Better check the reseller (Hodgdon's) website for current data.