Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Im not a lawyer...help

Discussion in 'Legal & Political Archive' started by deshoots, Apr 7, 2015.

1. deshoots

deshoots central oregon Member

Does this mean...
    If a buddy or my girlfriend and I go out to the woods to shoot some steel we will be breaking the law if we trade guns. (this area is not designed for target shooting ...just a randon spot in the forest)
    Or does it mean. We are ok if we are at an area designed for shooting, a shooting gallery???? OR any other spot (like out in the woods where we do 100% of our shooting) as long as we are "target shooting?

I am not good at speaking lawyer. This is the direct quote from the proposed bill.

"SECTION 2. (1) As used in this section: (a) “Transfer” means the delivery of a firearm from a transferor to a transferee, including, but not limited to, the sale, gift, loan or lease of the firearm. “Transfer” does not include the temporary provision of a firearm to a transferee if the transferor has no reason to believe the transferee is prohibited from possessing a firearm or intends to use the firearm in the commission of a crime, and the provision occurs:

(A) At a shooting range, shooting gallery or other area designed for the purpose of target shooting, for use during target practice, a firearms safety or training course or class or a similar lawful activity;

(B) For the purpose of hunting, trapping or target shooting, during the time in which the transferee is engaged in activities related to hunting, trapping or target shooting;"

Last edited: Apr 7, 2015
  2. Martini_Up

Martini_Up NW USA Well-Known Member