JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
I want to buy a shotgun from someone in Oregon but i live in Washington and am wondering do I need to go through FFL or can i just buy it and bring it back to washington? Thanks I been reading around and it was pretty confusing... I know that for Handgun i need to go through FFL but what about Shotgun and rifle through private seller in Oregon when I am a washington resident.

Any firearm sale across statelines must go through an FFL. Unless the firearm is a C&R, Curio&relic in which case the firearm can be mailed to a person with a C&R licence.

That is my understanding of the law.

Link below is to the sticky at the top of all classifieds sections...
<broken link removed>

But the answer is no. Must transfer through an FFL.
You can walk into an OR FFL with the seller and the rifle/shotgun and walk out with it though.

Any firearm sale across statelines must go through an FFL. Unless the firearm is a C&R, Curio&relic in which case the firearm can be mailed to a person with a C&R licence.

That is my understanding of the law.

UUUMMMM a C&R is an FFL license, it is an 03 vs 01 for dealers...........

Thanks for the info! ALL of this gun law is confusing..... Wow and the fee for FFL is like another 40 dollars eh? That makes all the saving from buying the gun.....
Was gonna buy a ruger 10/22 and a Savage 311D from 1962.... Do all of you guys stay 100% legal? lol

If i buy a shotgun or rifle from a local resident (washington) Do I need FFL or do i just buy it and go?

If you are both residents of the same state a sale or transfare does not need to go through a FFL

UUUMMMM a C&R is an FFL license, it is an 03 vs 01 for dealers...........

A C&R license is not a FFL as such, It is just a permit that enables you to receive Firearms that are classed as CURIO&RELICS