Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

I have a disorderly conduct I charge in Oregon can I buy a firearm?

Discussion in 'Legal & Political Archive' started by Jae, Jul 14, 2012.

  1. Jae

    Jae Oregon New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a disorderly conduct I charge in Oregon ORS number 166.023 it is a class A misdemeanor. It has been 6 years since all fines and bench probation has been paid and served. Can I purchase or own a firearm?
     
  2. fd15k

    fd15k Tigard,OR Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,440
    Likes Received:
    491
    Eligibility For Purchasing A Firearm

    1/1/06

    All State and Federal Laws Will Apply Regarding the Sale of Firearms

    You Must Be a Resident of Oregon for Handgun Purchases

    You Must Not Have Been Convicted of a Felony nor Be Under Indictment or
    Information for a Crime for Which the Judge Could Imprison You for More than One
    Year

    You Must Not Have Been Convicted of a Domestic Violence Misdemeanor

    You Must Not Have Any Outstanding Warrants for Arrest

    You Must Not Be Limited by Conditions of Probation for Possession of Firearms

    You Must Not Be a Person Who Is Free on Any Form of Pre-Trial Release While
    Awaiting Trial for a Felony

    You Must Not Have Been Committed to the Mental Health Division as a Result of a
    Mental Commitment Hearing

    You Must Not Have Been a Person Found Mentally Ill and Have Been Specifically
    Prohibited from Purchasing or Possessing a Firearm by Court Order as a Result of a
    Commitment Hearing After January 1, 1990

    You Must Not Have Been Convicted or Found Not Guilty by Reason of Insanity During
    the Previous Four Years for the Following Misdemeanors:

    Assault 4th Degree
    Menacing
    Recklessly Endangering

    Strangulation
    Intimidation 2nd Degree

    You Must Not Have a Restraining Order Against You for Harassment, Stalking, or
    Threatening an Intimate Partner or Child of an Intimate Partner

    You Must Not Be a Fugitive from Justice

    You Must Not Be a User of or Addicted to any Controlled Substance

    You Must Not Have Received a Dishonorable Discharge from the Armed Forces

    You Must Not Have Renounced Your U.S. Citizenship or Be an Illegal Alien

    http://www.oregon.gov/OSP/ID/docs/Eligibility_For_Purchasing_Firearm.pdf?ga=t
     
  3. Stomper

    Stomper Oceania Rising White Is The New Brown Silver Supporter

    Messages:
    12,912
    Likes Received:
    19,555
    Also, be sure to keep your terminology straight... a person can be "charged" with anything but the "conviction" is what counts. Back in the 90's I was "charged" with the Class-A misdemeanors of Menacing and Assault-IV merely for (literally) breaking the back of a guy I caught breaking into my house, however the charges were ultimately dropped and I was not "convicted", despite having spent one night in jail.

    I've never had one problem with the scores of background checks I gone through, including clearances to do HVQC snd boiler repair work in the local FBI buildings, and State prisons around here.
     
  4. MinnesotaORnewbie

    MinnesotaORnewbie Oregon Active Member

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    201
    if it has been 6 years since the day your were charged and everything else was finalized in court, you could have bought a gun as soon as your probabtion period was done and over with IF you were to buy from a FFL. You could have bought a gun from a FTF if this was not a felony and you had no other assults or among the list of other things that prevent anyone from buying a Firearm the day after court. Now, you can even get a CCL or CWL how ever Oregonians call them as soon as three years I believe after a misd. charge....please check, this could be 5 years, but with you in 6 years of all being done and no other Missdyssmyguns. The other key note is aslong as your sentence, whether your served a day of it or none of it and it was was stayed, it cannot exceed 365. Go out and buy your guns from whom ever and get your Permit to carry. Good luck, and don't sweat it.
     
  5. Swedish K

    Swedish K SW Washington Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    1,231
    As you were arrested and the charges were eventually dropped if you were to look at your "rap sheet" the entry would show a line item for each charge with the incident/arrest date and under the disposition it would be noted "DFOJ" (dismissed for furtherance of justice) or similar depending upon the state's particular notations. On occasion the disposition posting can fall through the cracks and trigger a flag that delays firearms purchases as they forgot to note that you were found not guilty or charges were dropped.