JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
... but with the way things are going I'm thinking about it. I was an 11B (Infantry) from 82-94, so it is not like I have no experience, I just didn't see a need for one.

Anyway how do I go about getting the background check and whatever else I would have to do?

I don't have a criminal record and can't see any reason to be denied.

Congrats on thinking about your first gun.

It's pretty simple, and it's probably easiest starting out if you start with a local gun store. You can go to any gun store (local gun shops, or other stores like Cabela's, Bi-Mart or Fred Meyer, some pawn shops), pick out what you want and when you're ready to buy, they will have you fill out an ATF form and they will take your thumb prints. They will run the background check there, and depending on how many people are getting BGC's at the same moment, you may know quickly or after a few hours, if you're approved. Once you're approved, you can buy the gun and take it home. Pretty simple process.

You can also buy online. In that case, the gun has to be mailed to a local FFL (federal firearms license holder) who will do the same form, prints and background check as the gun store - you'll pay a fee for the 'transfer' and for the BGC, anywhere from $25-50 depending on where you go.

Walk into a ffl (gun store), pick what you want, put down some $$$$$, jump through some hoops like a trained monkey, take it home.

Or pick something from the classifieds here and do the above in a slightly different order.

If it's a handgun you are wanting, I recommend a refresher course and maybe some time at a range that offers rentals first.

Another place to consider is gun shows, they have the same basic standards to buy as an FFL.