JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Maybe this is a simple question but I honestly can't find the answer:

I am an Oregon Resident with a hunting license/tags and I have family and friends who would like to camp/backpack with me this year who are not Oregon residents and do not have Oregon hunting licenses. Do they need non-resident licenses to join me? As-in I would hunt, and they would be camping.

For rabbit?
For coyote?
For big game?

It is my understanding that people can tag along with a hunter as lond as they are not actively hunting or carrying a weapon for that hunting.

Negative... to "hunt" anything, you have to have a hunting license- even varmint. The difference is that you don't have to pull any tags.

To answer the question- you can take anyone you want, and they can be armed and wearing blaze orange and spotting game with binoculars and etc... it's a free country, and you can look like you're hunting even if you're not hunting all you want. Just keep in mind that the difference between a violation and no violation will be how the game officer perceives the situation.

So I'd suggest no hunting caliber rifles for the guests.

Thanks for the replies everyone. It has been a little confusing because I can't find in the ODFW regulations a definition of "hunter" and if other members of your party are considered hunters or not. In Tennessee and Nebraska (two places I've hunted) you can have people actually "assist" you in hunting (tag along) but as long as they are not holding a weapon or actively harvest they don't need a license.

I'm going to go ahead and test the waters and see what happens. I don't see the issue in camping and harvesting rabbit to eat with my non-resident friends/family.

This is a quote directly from ODFW...