JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am expecting that I will be able to return to Oregon next spring. (Yes from CA, but I grew up in Oregon and am OSU alum so don't hate me) I work in tech so I am asking mostly about the west side. That means most likely we are talking about Multnomah or Washington county. Its less likely but still possible that it could also include Yamhill or Clackamas. From what I have read from a 2nd ammendment perspective I think the ranking from best to worst is:

Yamhill
Washington
Multnomah/Clackamas

Is that about right, or does it really make much diff?

What diff will it make with regards to carry permit?
What about NFA items?

Most of the stuff here focuses on state issues, so thought I would ask for opinions at a more local level. Trying to factor that in with school district considerations to narrow down most likely areas.

Washington co. is most certainly better than Multnomah for a number of reasons; political, legal, demographics and so on. Yamhill is better than Washington county for property taxes and permits/etc. - I am not sure about legal (CHL, sheriff, etc.) - but I don't think that it would be worse than Wa. co.

Yamhill probably has less crime in some areas?

I live right on the line between the two; the county line for Yamhill is 1000 feet from my house. When I retire I will probably move further out from Portland and into Yamhill county, but right now I am as far out as I can be and still have a commute I can tolerate (one hour each way does get old after a while, even with living where I do).