JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Sorry for the n00b question, but I just recently bought my first firearm (Ruger SR9 stainless), so I'm a total rookie here! Just wondering how long you can leave rounds in the clip before you need to start worrying about the springs getting damaged?

Now feel free to nominate me for n00b of the month, lol!

Springs don't get damaged by being kept in compression or not. It the act of compressing and decompressing that wears them out (Work hardens the metal).

Oh and there Mags not clips. M1s use spring clips. No question is a dumb question, just one you don't know the answer to.

You can keep them loaded for as long as you wish. It is the loading and unloading that will cause the most wear to the magazine spring.

If your worried about the magazines, buy plenty of extras and/or the parts to rebuild them.

Wow, 3 fast replies, this forum doesn't dilly-dally around! Thanks, and very good info to know! Almost 39, and didn't know keeping a spring in compression didn't hurt it, but never to late to learn!

OK I'll ask a question I don't know. Was watching "Tales of the gun, the M-16" and they said in Vietnam the guys using M-16s only loaded 16 in a 20 round mag because of spring problems. What were they referring to?

OK I'll ask a question I don't know. Was watching "Tales of the gun, the M-16" and they said in Vietnam the guys using M-16s only loaded 16 in a 20 round mag because of spring problems. What were they referring to?

From what I just read, probably dirt and rust in the magazine and its spring, especially in a jungle situation like Vietnam.