JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'd like to apologize in advance, but this may be more venting than actually presenting a solvable problem.

I have been reloading for about 10 years. All of it on a Hornady LNL press. Pistol and rifle.

In that time I honestly don't think I've even ONCE made it through 500 rounds without having to more or less rebuild the press. I've always assumed this is operator error on my part. But these days I'm not so sure.

Basically it goes like this: I'm loading away when a primer doesn't set properly. Then, because it is sticking out just a bit, it creates drag on the rotation of the shellplate. Pretty soon, the plate is out of sync with the dies. I adjust the pawls. It works for a while, then it goes out of sync again.

OR (and this might be the same problem) the shuttle either fails to pick up a fresh primer (which ends up with powder spilling out through the empty hole) or doesn't move forward enough. When I screw the primer ram in all the way it blocks the movement of the shuttle. When I back it out a wee bit, the primer doesn't seat enough.

I've gorilla-glued a piece of spring metal over the small dent in the press created by the primer ram. This sort of helps, but I'm still having a lot of issues.

I understand that the primer mechanism on the LNL isn't perfect. But as I look around online, it seems like the overwhelming majority of people who use this press are very happy with it. I've talked to people who have NEVER adjusted the pawls, or had a single primer issue. I can't output even 100 rounds without some problem, so obviously there is something fundamental that I am doing VERY wrong...

Just to see, I hand primed a batch and skipped the priming system altogether. That seemed to work, but then why have a progressive?