JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Complete newbie regarding these things, so please excuse my ignorance! =)

I picked up Hoppes #9 and some breakfree clp.

I'm cleaning my brand new vp9 and I wanted to make sure its safe/ok to use hoppes 9 all over my gun. Its not just for the bore right?

I tried to find a guide, but came up short.

It's a CLP, it's also petrochemicals, i would be wary of using it on the plastics.

Try a dedicated degreaser, like MPro7 cleaner for the all over approach.

Plastics are something I was concerned about with Hoppes #9 but as much as I try to avoid it, I've been pretty sloppy with it on my synthetic stocks and grips and so far no problem.

Ahhhhh I love the smell of Hoppes #9 in the morning :D
My first whiff was in the 1940's

A take on the Movie Apocalypse Now :D

Its like skin bracer, old spice or a fresh brew. The rifleman's cologne :)
Grandpa's gun room always smelled of Hoppe's #9

Last Edited:
The Elite version?
Yeah, I just checked, I've used/have that as well as the original. Does it damage plastic? Maybe long term?
All is well for now. Marlin795, ruger mini all weather, old no name 22 revolver/cheap plastic grips, Ruger SR9, rubbery grips on my .38 and some other things. Can't swear I used the ELITE on all of these.:eek:

So fairly close;

Hoppes = Old regular petro-chemical oil, basically using oil's natural attributes to sell as gun oil/cleaner etc. (oil naturally lifts dirt, lubes and leaves a barrier layer)

Knowing that new companies were coming up with actual specific cleaners, particularly oil free type products, they asked MPro 7 (one of the aforementioned companies) to produce a safe cleaner, which they did, but it's not exactly the same product. Basically if you want the real deal, buy MPro7's gun cleaner.