JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Do any lawyers out there have a feeling of how the new washington state law will impact people that have homemade ("80%") firearms? The way I read it is that if they've already made, that's ok, as long as you don't intend to sell them; any new manufacturing is verboten. Or should the homemade firearms be destroyed to stay out of legal trouble?

I am not a lawyer but the way HB1739 reads to me anyway is that new bill essentially says the same thing as what federal law already is. The only difference being that Washington State now makes it illegal to manufacture all plastic 3-D guns.
With that being said Polymer80 has decided that they will no longer sell us any more 80% receivers. Washington Arms Collectors (WAC) is checking on why their lawyers came up with this conclusion. Hopefully the NRA will come to our rescue.

I think until the Courts get done sorting out the recent Washington State RCW changes that thinks like the 80% Guns should be put on hold. IMO

Not to discount the ability of the courts to muck up "interpreting" things as simple as A+B=C, but the law is unenforceable gibberish in my opinion.

First it criminalizes any assistance whatsoever to a prohibited person, including "allowing" them to make a weapon. Are you supposed to tackle them to stop them? Even removing that part, "assistance" could be defined as pretty much anything: loaned your neighbor a cordless drill, posted a comment about a build online, informed someone what an 80% receiver is- any of that could "assist" someone to build a gun.