JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
My wife and I have been talking the talk for too long now about getting some sort of a home security system.

Since I'm close to retirement I'm generally reluctant to add any new monthly charges.

I live in a good neighborhood with trustworthy neighbors, I'd prefer to be notified and call one of them, and the cops, than having a SWAT team show up because a squirrel chewed on a wire.

Recommendations gladly accepted :)

As far as security systems I have no experience with those. I have played around with enough home camera systems to have a personal opinion on those. If your looking for simple setup with best quality and recording protection and easy plug and play. NEST cameras come to mind BUT they are expensive to run monthly. The best benefit from them is 24/7 recording to the cloud and you can review everything that happened that day not just what the camera decided was worth saving. Truly wireless systems like Arlo have bad video quality and have a delay between when the motion sensor triggers record and by the actual recording starts (camera needs time to wakeup from sleeping mode). Too slow in my opinion.

The best would be a stand alone camera system with NVR at your home that records 24/7 with high quality Ethernet POE cameras. No monthly charges, highest camera quality with all the phone app support.

I use a RING camera, not much bigger than a soda can and is under $200 working off your wifi. Can even be sent to your phone.

Built in night vision, motion alerts, microphone and records when not viewing. Stores it to the cloud system. The app with it allows you monitor crimes up to a 25 mile radius of where you live based on others using the RING to upload to something akin to twitter but for security reasons.