Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Hiking on Pacific Crest Trail

Discussion in 'Preparedness & Survival' started by sigboi, Aug 16, 2013.

1. sigboi

sigboi Seattle Active Member

Has anyone hiked on this trail before? Planning on doing a hike with the family in the next couple weeks, just a day hike, get there early, hike to the lakes and back before dusk. Hiking newbie here.

Has anyone seen any bears or mountain lions out there? Sketchy people?

Should I be armed more than a 9mm sig, and .380 bodyguard bug? Also have an ar15 I could bring... but don't know if that's overkill or if people will call the cops on me lol.

Thoughts?

2. Navman

Navman Canby Oregon Active Member

I helped build 150 miles of the PCT back in the 70's along with a hardy bunch of guys.

Never saw a cat but they probably saw us, saw many bear but we always had firearms just in case.

Seemed they enjoyed walking the trail as much as we people do lol

I always had a 357 magnum in the camp and on the trail in case the bears messed with the horses on the trail.

Everyone should carry in your group, 9mm and up just in case

People were never a problem, even those that hiked naked in Devils Hole California, pretty mellow in our experience, with the exception of the women that came into our camp wanting to cook for us or "what ever" that idenified themselve as part of "the family" ie Charles Manson.

3. sigboi

Wow that sounds like a fun time! Only me and my brother know how to shoot, the rest of the group (4 total) would be unarmed. I will prob bring the ar just in case.

What to do if we see a bear? The nps site says:

"Close Encounters With Black Bears

Black bear attacks are extremely rare in the United States and we have no records of any occurring in Mount Rainier National Park. A bear's response to your presence depends heavily on how you respond to the bear's.