JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
This is my first firearms forum that I registered to. I am a scientist by profession and hiker/backpacker/traveler/photographer in my free time. I live in Seattle and have extensively traveled (hiked and backpacked) in the Mountain West (most recent trip for 2 week at the Sawtooth Mountains, Idaho). I am a citizen of Croatia, but I am a legal resident (green card holder) and as such am entitled to the 2nd Amendment. I currently own Ruger SP100 (.357 Mag) for my protection on my backpacking trips (I also carry bear spray along my Ruger) and I use 180 grain bullets. However, next summer I am planning 5-6 weeks backpacking trip to Alaska, so I need something more potent for Alaskan Browns, so I decided to buy Henry 45-70 Gov All Weather Lever Action Rifle.
A week ago I purchased the Henry rifle in Cabela , but since I am not an US citizen, but a permanent resident my background check was supposed to take a day or two (FBI has also to check my immigration status and that can take a day or two). Now it has been a whole week and my background check is still showing "delayed". In the past I purchased a pistol (Springfield XD, made in my native country of Croatia for my cancelled carry) and Ruger revolver and I got my background check cleared within few hours. Does anyone on this forum has the same experience with background check? By the way, I also have a valid WA cancelled permit and have perfectly clear record.

I was getting delayed (in OR) pretty regularly every 5 years. The last one was in 2017 and it's due to a barroom dust-up in 1996 in Arizona.
The whole thing was dismissed without charges but mishandling by the arresting agency and subsequently Maricopa county of booking documentation brings it back around.