JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Im relatively new to shooting, i would like a 22 caliber rifle for target practice.
My budget is EXTREMELY limited, but id like something that can be upgraded over time, scope, trigger, what have you. Can someone point me in the right direction? Im looking to spend 80-125.00 at most. I appreciate your time.

Dig some change out of the sofa cushions and donate some blood. Then hit up one of Bi-Marts sales on a Ruger 10/22. You may be able to locate one used as well. Either way it will take a tad more moolah to get somthing that isn't a POS.

Bi-Mart just had the wood stock 10/22 on sale for 179.00. Not sure if they go that low all the time but it was a good deal. I think the stainless model was on sale for right at 2 bills also.

10-22's hold their value too well to find a cheap one very easy.
Keiths has a used one for 165.00 bucks...TOO much for used,but as I say they hold their value.
In my humble opinion,the ruger is a plinker rifle,not a target rifle...out of the box that is.It can be upgraded to be a tack driver,but it costs a lot to do it.
consenus is the Marlin model 60 is more accurate,but no upgrades or add-ons are out ther for it that I know of.
Bimart is the place to look for one at the best price it seems.

It's already been said.
If you want something customizable then the 10/22 is the way to go.

If you want something that will be more accurate right out of the box but less options for customizing, then the Marlin Model 60 is a good choice - plus they are cheaper - they often come up around $60 - $80 depending on condition.

10/22s rarely come up less than $140.

This package is not a bad option
http://www.northwestfirearms.com/forum/showthread.php?p=151998