Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Hellbreaker lower.. Detail painting tips wanted.

Discussion in 'General Firearm Discussion' started by KalamaMark, Nov 21, 2013.

1. KalamaMark

KalamaMark Kalama Wa Well-Known Member

I just picked up a Hellbreaker lower. I'm really wanting to paint or finish the mouth of this in classic warplane fashion.

This won't be a battle weapon, and will be pampered as a fine rifle would, but I do want the coating or coloring to be durable and not chip or scratch easily.

My first thought was simple Testor's model paint, and that's really the only detail painting like this I've done...and that was 35 years ago. I have no airbrush experience.

I suspect DuraCote would be more durable, but they say not to use brushes.

Any thoughts, inputs or ideas on this?
    Thanks.

Hellbreaker.jpg

http://th04.deviantart.net/fs70/PRE/i/2011/238/e/6/shark_teeth_by_daemonangel-d47x9xm.jpg

Hellbreaker.jpg

2. Flopsweat

Flopsweat Slightly right of center Well-Known Member

I have no idea but please tell me you'll post more pictures when it's finished.

ETA: And tell us how you did it. I'm pretty sure I'm going to need one of these.

3. Swedish K

Swedish K SW Washington Moderator Staff Member

was looking at cerakote instructions the other day - seems that you would only need a toaster oven to bake it as iirc the cure is done in 250 degrees for a few hours, but then again cerakote seems to be pretty expensive stuff.

You could probably do this using engine paint - mask, spray, bake, repeat for each color.

Also - seems like you are fairly close by - if I can find my air brush I'll let you know - they are fairly easy to use and have a more control than a spray can.

4. TwinStick

TwinStick In the wind Active Member