JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Just this week I found out that my wife and I have the opportunity to buy a few acres and build our own house. I've been a carpenter (apprentice at best:eek:) for the past 2.5 years so I have a bit of experience. I plan on doing the vast majority of the work myself. Anybody have sage advice or warnings for me? Any ideas on how to cut costs and be efficient without sacrificing quality? Any advice or ideas are welcome.
Erik

I have built two, It will take twice as long and cost twice as much as you think. If your wife wants something done a certain way just shut up and do it, You'll be real mad when you have to go back and do it to suit her so your ears can get a day off. If your marriage survives this your good to go.

I have built two, It will take twice as long and cost twice as much as you think. If your wife wants something done a certain way just shut up and do it, You'll be real mad when you have to go back and do it to suit her so your ears can get a day off. If your marriage survives this your good to go.

I take it you don't have plans to build another home any time soon:s0112:

I'd be realistic about my abilities...
if you can find a mentor, they will be worth their weight in gold.

If you do not already have a contractors license, you should think about gtting one. The savings on materials alone may pay for the licensure.

the Torpedoman's advice sounds funny, but every word is the absolute truth.