JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
i have spent the last 2 years going to school,volintering and training to become a firefighter,i have done everything asked of me and even more.
As of now i am done with what i have been doing and monday start as a paid full time firefighter/EMT for columbia county.

Speaking as a son of a fireman and as an ex-volunteer firefighter myself, I congratulate you---it IS an achievement. My only advice: stay away from hard liquor when you are grieving, and always nap on your days off!

You will enjoy this tale: a friend I grew up with in the Midwest decided that he needed a secure career---at the age of thirty-nine. He always thought that he should become a firefighter, so he committed himself to the three month "short-course" in Fire Science at the University, an incredibly hard course of compressed study. He got the degree with near-perfect grades, and was already physically buff from his career as an ironworker, so he applied to the City.

He was interviewed by the Deputy Chief, and told straight-up that he would NEVER be hired as they would blackball all his efforts because he was forty---too old, and likely seeking a disabillity retirement gravy-train. That is the way that the department brass thought about older applicants. Well, this only pissed my friend off!

He trained and he studied; he studied and he trained. So when the Bureau applicant tests were given, all the written tests, practical tests, and physical strength and agility tests were over: HE GOT THE HIGHEST SCORE THAT HAD EVER BEEN DONE! In a hundred years of testing in that large metropolitan city, he was the single most qualified applicant---ever!