JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am new to purchasing guns and am wondering what the deal is with delays in handgun purchases in washington state? What is the average time people wait? I don't understand how I can go buy an ar15 and be out the door with it in 15 minutes, yet here I sit 18 days after paying for my first pistol and still the shop says they "havnt heard anything yet, we'll call you when we do". I don't have any tickets or arrests. I didn't put my social security number on the form like I did when I purchased my AR last year, could that be the problem? Is this a normal time frame or is something else going on?

18 days sounds pretty strange but I'll bite.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but for a handgun in WA state, the local law enforcement has 5 days to do a background check for the transfer, and if you dont hear back in that 5 days, a transfer can then be made.

My advice to you, is get your CPL and then you can walk oit the same day.

18 days sounds pretty strange but I'll bite.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but for a handgun in WA state, the local law enforcement has 5 days to do a background check for the transfer, and if you dont hear back in that 5 days, a transfer can then be made.

My advice to you, is get your CPL and then you can walk oit the same day.

I tried looking this up myself, the dol says 5 days, or whenever law enforcement decides to release it. So that seems like it's minimum 5 days but maximum is..whatever they want. At least that was my interpretation of it. I am just trying to find out how long people generally are having to wait before getting their pistol, as this is my first one.

As far as the cpl, I agree and am in the process of getting one.

You can but it's not guaranteed.