JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.

Able to do a a bgc and get the handgun (18-21 years old) vs sill not legal (need to be 21+)

• Total voters
Reactions
I would like your inputs in this question I have. It goes like this in Oregon private sale of firearms requires a background check (bgc). And to buy a hand gun over the counter you need to be 21+. So the only way to get a handgun if you are 18-20 years old is private sale or build your own. So the Question is a person 18-20 years old able to buy a handgun say from the handguns classified and do a bgc; if it passes will the 18-20 year old be the legal owner of a handgun or is this not possible because they will have to be 21+. Sorry for the wording of the question I am not good at writing and thanks for your inputs! Trying to find out the truth to not waist time looking and trying to find a handgun to ultimately waste both parties time.

Last Edited:
Only legal (i think) way in Oregon is for a family member close enough to give or sell a firearm to you without a BGC. If they buy one with the intent to sell it to you it's a straw purchase and still illegal. ALL other transactions require a BGC in Oregon. Personally, just wait a few yeas.

The only way for somebody under 21 to own a handgun in Oregon is for it to be gifted to them. I also don't believe they are allowed possession outside of the home or while participating in sports.

Last Edited:
Only legal (i think) way in Oregon is for a family member close enough to give or sell a firearm to you without a BGC. If they buy one with the intent to sell it to you it's a straw purchase and still illegal. ALL other transactions require a BGC in Oregon. Personally, just wait a few yeas.