JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I could have SWORN I posted this last night with a nice description...hmm...well time to tell the short version of the story again! :cool:

I have a Marlin 444 which is my first rifle purchase with my father who has since passed so it has sentimental value.

As I prepared for hunting season I noticed some rust on the barrel tip and around a little. So I pulled out my steel wool and solvent. Used the wool and applied my solvent. Immediately I noticed bluing coming off. I quickly rinsed it off and a lot of bluing was removed. I had grabbed the wrong solvent...idiot mistake. Now the bluing is missed and I have a decent amount of rust.

I could try to blue it myself but I am no expert and because of the sentimental value I rather have a professional do it.

Can anyone suggest a Gunsmith who does bluing in the Portland (westside) or Salem area who is trusted and used before? I want to call around from those suggestion, price and get it fixed. I assuming they would have time now since hunting season is over.

Thank you in advance for helping! :s0155:

Rich's Gunshop in Donald does decent work, but most of what I've seen from them is what I would call a matte bluing. But, you could give them a call and see what they can do for you.

Hi PDXWolf,
There a guy in Vancouver Washington That does bluing and a good job at it. He did a Ruger 22 I got from him. I know where he lives.
I may have his phone number in my phone. I will look for it for you.
PM me if you would like it with you number so I can call you and give it to you.
Tony Portland, Oregon Area