JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hello
i am new to the Gun World. I live in Vancouver Washington. I tried to buy a handgun at a sporting good store in portland and was told I could not buy it. I was told I could not buy a hand gun from anyone in Oregon. I was told I cannot bring a gun across state lines. So here is my question there is a gun show at the expo center this weekend and it is oregon. So can I buy a handgun at the Gun show? Thanks for the info. :huh:

As I understand it, technically, you could buy a gun in Oregon (Expo Center) but would have to have it shipped to an FFL in Washington state, to complete the sale. In other words, whoever you bought it from would have to ship it. Maybe Cocktailer can chime in. He should be at the show.

Yep, but you have to ship it from an OR FFL to a WA FFL and pay sales/use tax on the total amount. Same with any handgun from anyone in Oregon, even for a private sale. NO Face to Face gun sales across state lines.
Longguns bought out of state have to go through an FFL but you can take it with you once the background check clears.

A lot of OR dealers sell to WA dudes at the gun show.
They walk them over to my table and hand off the pistol, then the buyer comes to my office in Vancouver to pick it up the following Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday....

Kind of a special case as the WA FFL then does the transport, but (legally) the use tax is still owed on the total amount of the sale.