JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hello again! Just moved into a new place in Aubrun, WA, which is about 30mins south of Seattle.

The lawn in the property is in bad shape, tons of weed which I recently sprayed, waiting for them to die off.

Want to folks here what is a good grass seed to use for replanting my lawn once the weeds are dead?

I have a mix of shade and sunny areas due to trees. One side on my front yard has zero grass now, looking to nuke the area and start from scratch.

Also,I am a complete newbie, never had a yard before. Is there a best time to seed the area?

Thanks.

Scott's weed and feeds. Water regularly. Wait 4 weeks for it to do its thing. Then seed. Your local hardware store will have the right seed blend for your area

OP works from home, so he can drive to Seattle during low traffic times if he needs to go there. Also, the Sounder runs to Seattle from Auburn in 30 minutes.
When we moved here I forbade my wife from hiring a gardener because I actually want to cut my own lawn. I grew up in the Midwest and hate the idea of hiring people to do my household chores for me. The lawn is where I play catch with my kids, it is their terrain to run through and play on so I'd never replace it with rock or planters.
Good luck with your lawn.

Seed grasses anytime soil temps are 55 or above, we are past those right now.

Best seed would be a perennial ryegrass mix. In a heavy shade area a turf type tall fescue would work pretty good too. After many years and tons of seeding perennial rye grasses, I would mix in some fescue with it, at least 30%. Rye grasses are heavy feeders and need fertilizer to stay looking good. About 4 to 5 times a year depending on how much you irrigate the grass. The fescue and rye grass have different textures and one does better where the other does not.