JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Sigmadog's thread got me to thinking. The shooting in Virginia today was was a "hello!" moment for me. I need the group's thinking and input with this. I work in a hospital and every where on the property is a no firearms zone. I want to consistently carry to work. I have a small locked "safe" that is attached underneath my truck seat with a steel cable. Yeah, its one of those. I have been nervous with the idea of leaving my side arm locked up in my vehicle in the parking lot all day. If I carry on duty and get discovered I will be canned [or worse] on the spot. Should something go terribly south, so to speak, I would want to get to my firearm in the truck. I imagine others find themselves in this same predicament at work. How do others carry consistently around this scenario? Especially in the Big City. This old guy would appreciate any input. Thanks.

I am retired from radiology.
I carry (carried) a pistol to work everyday and stopped at security on the way in.
They put it in their safe and when I left after shift I retrieved it. I have never left a weapon in a vehicle.
True, I couldn't get to it during work hours but if there would have been an active shooter in the hospital
the last thing I would be doing is running around the halls trying to make it to the security office or my truck.
If I actually made it to my truck I sure wouldn't grab my gun and go back in. I'm too good looking to be a hero.
Every hospital I worked in had their own security force plus city police present, especially in and around the ER.
At times I could see a half dozen officers in the halls. As goofy as it got in the ER area I never felt unsafe.
.............and I interned at Harborview so that should give you an idea of what kind of nuthouse it could become.