JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Okay, So I found a shop in Portland that has this rifle in three different configurations. One with a Crimson Trace red/green site, one with a flat top rail (no sights), and the third has A2/Mbus sights. The one with the CT sight seems to have no forward assist, but the other two do. I'm a complete AR noob and have only fired one a couple of times. So I'm not sure which one to purchase. While I like the idea of a red dot ( I can't afford a separate sight right now), though I know the CT has mediocre reviews. As far as the forward assist, I'm not sure why one doesn't have it and the other two do. Especially since they're essentially the same rifle.
Which leads to my final question... Do I need forward assist, or is it essentially useless? Which one would you purchase given the three options?

I'd go with the a2/mbus version. Get it sighted and get comfortable with the irons. Be worth it in the long run. As time money let's you get a good red dot or optic.
As far as the forward assist theres not a real need for it. That said its there if you did need it. But when you do theres usually some underlying problem (bad ammo, excessivly dirty gun ect).
Just my thoughts take a look and buy whats comfortable and works for you.

Second vote for a2/mbus. East to add red dot later when you run across the one you want at a god price.

Reason for forward assist that people forget is for quiet charging.
Rather than letting the bolt snap forward and identify your location to the world, use the charging handle to allow the bolt to quietly strip a fresh round and slowly go to battery, than press the forward assist to set the bolt.

What's the price difference between CT sight and no sights??

The one without the forward assist is probably an older Sport 1 they are stuck with.