JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm pretty sure I know the answer to this question, but just thought I'd double check...

My dad is visiting from California this weekend and I'd like to give him a revolver that he's been wanting for quite some time. Now, since I'm an OR resident and he's a CA resident, what is the proper (legal) way to do this? Can I go to an FFL here to do the paperwork or is he going to have an issue taking it on the plane across state lines? Would it be easier to just ship it to an FFL near his home?

Thanks all!

Why do you people even talk about this stuff on the internet?

If you hadn't opened your yap, it works like this. It's your dad. It's his gun. He's coming to get it. There is no transfer.

Now you made it something it's not.:s0154:

If you hadn't opened your yap, it works like this. It's your dad. It's his gun. He's coming to get it. There is no transfer.

Mostly... Except that Cali has the whole gun-registry thing. You're required to register all your handguns. Dunno how that would fit into all of this.

If I recall correctly there is a clausre that lets a child give to parent back and fourth but not siblings back and fourth. With Cali still needs to beregistered to be legal, but what they do not know......

Yeah, but imagine if Dad's house is broken into, and the gun is stolen, then used in a crime. It gets traced to son (or the person who sold it to son, who shows a bill of sale to son). Son says, "I transfered that to my Dad." Now the question of the legality of that transfer is live. And regardless of how you'd handle it, I wouldn't be recommending subterfuges like that in public.