JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
i am just getting into reloading, and have a few questions.
should i use lead bullets or jacketed bullets?
are some powers better for some gun than others?

ill be loading 45acp,40s&w and 38 special

Any help would be great.

I prefer to use only plated or jacketed bullets as it cuts down on cleaning the barrel of lead. The powders are more of a personal preference for application rather than firearm used. For pistol rounds I use Blue Dot or Unique but others prefer different brands rather by cost or type of powder.

for .45ACP I shoot a lot of cast... because I cast bullets, and it's really cheap to do so. .40, you need to go FMJ or plated, it just performs better. .38 is a great caliber for cast bullets.

Powders to check out... titegroup for your autos, and HP-38 for your .38.

Read the Lyman book for reloading. It has a lot of good info on reloading cast bullets. Also there is a web site called castboolits.gunloads.com. Great bunch of folks over there,more then willing to help a new person looking to shoot lead.

One other warning -- if your gun has polygonal rifling (Heckler and Koch, I don't know if other brands use it) you should NOT use cast bullets, because the lead builds up in barrels with polygonal rifling, reducing the diameter and raising the pressure.
This is what I have heard, I do not know this as a fact from personal experience.
In regular barrels with grooves and lands, you can fire a few jacketed bullets through after firing cast to remove some of the leading, which makes cleaning easier.