JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm still new to prepping and I picked up on a video of someone running their gas engines using wood by means of gasification so I watched a bunch of videos and it seems like a good alternative way of creating power.

Then I ran across this guy and started looking at his other videos and he really has some sweet homemade projects for all kinds of things so if you want, his stuff is here; Engineer775 - YouTube

This guy has built one to take to market I would think. How The Liberator Gasifier Works - YouTube

This has terrible audio but explains the process pretty well; Intro to Gasification (Part 1 of 3) - YouTube

So anyone here try this???

I've never tried anything as involved, but I have built a couple of very simple gasifier wood stoves from 1qt paint cans to boil water or cook with. They use twigs about the size of a pencil, very efficient, and smokeless once it's going. I have also built a few "penny" alcohol stoves from aluminum cans. They are very light weight and able to cook/ boil food.

After a lot of research, I built a pretty big gasifier. Loaded it up with pellets from wilco and ran my 78 f35o with a 460 engine on it, I was blown away how well it ran. Just to let you all know FEMA has a pretty good instructions on building one online, check out youtube as well. There is load of free info. Forunately I have a machine shop at my disposal, but one can be built like the Fema one out of pretty basic stuff and tools.