JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
My 2007 Chevy Colorado recently became hard to start, and the 'Check Engine' light came on. I'm a disabled veteran and rarely drive, so it only has 14,300 actual miles on it; but it's been over five years since we bought it, so is out of warranty. Early last week I took it to the Beaverton Carr Chevrolet service department, since we had bought the vehicle new there, and left it overnight. Mechanic 'Fernando' called the next morning and said the 'scope diagnosis' (cost: $106.00) showed it needed about $630.00 worth of work. I told him to not do anything, then went to the dealership and picked up my vehicle. I immediately took it to another service place, and the mechanic there diagnosed it and laughed; he said all I needed was a new air filter...I leave my pickup outside, and our wet winter had caused a lot of mold to grow between the pleats of the filter. We put in a new ($18.00) air filter. It has started and run fine ever since, and the 'Check Engine' light has not come on again.

Max

Dealers are straight up crooked, never trust them. Awhile back I went to oil can Henry's with a friend with his brand new 6 month old gmc yukon just for an oil change. They told him he needed to change his diff oil. We both looked at each other and laughed and told the guy " you're joking right?" Then I look at my friend and said " might as well wait till tomorrow when we replace the driveshaft coolant reservoir and we can change the diff oil at the same time". The guy was not happy...

I was told by Skyline Ford in Salem that my 2001 Lincoln Navigator's ball joints were bad and needed to be replaced and would cost about $1000 to replace them. I took it to Les Schwab today and they told me my ball joints are perfecly fine.