JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Attending gun shows (at both sides of the table) for 42 years, I've had some interesting experiences, some disappointing, some extremely rewarding, and some downright confusing. This one nearly takes the cake:

Table guy has numerous sets of used reloading dies, among which is a set of .444 Marlin RCBS dies. They show evidence of some regular use, but no abuse. Since the .444 is a cartridge that not many guys use, and those that do don't load for it as frequently as say, a .223 or .30-06, I am interested in the decent .444 dies for a friend in Montana that just got a nice rifle in that caliber and is looking for dies.

No price on the set, so I ask. "Thirty five dollars" is the reply. I politely offer $25 cash. Table guy mutters a bit, pulls out his Midway catalog and looks them up and finds what I already know: They retail there for $39.49. I think we both can rightly assume this is for a new set. He shows me the catalog and says, "It'll cost me that much to replace them."

I'm wondering what that statement has to do with anything on planet earth, and so I politely remind him that his set for sale is used. He declines to come down one cent on his $35.

I spent the rest of my time at the show trying to make sense of his logic. Why does he feel the "need" to "replace" a set of dies from his big pile of used dies for sale? Why not make a reasonable counter-offer?

I try to convince myself that his dear old grandmother left him that specific set of .444 Marlin dies as the only rememberance to him of her time here on earth, or that he is really a custom jewelry maker and constructs gorgeous baubles out of reloading dies to grace the neck and cleavage of fair virtuous maidens.

I'm sure many of you have had comparable experiences. This one still has me totally perplexed.