Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

FTF with CPL and out of state DL

Discussion in 'Legal & Political Archive' started by DBake, Dec 5, 2009.

1. DBake

DBake WA Member

Is it legal to do a face to face transfer with someone that has a in state CPL and out of state DL + passport?

2. PhysicsGuy

PhysicsGuy Corvallis, OR Resident Science Nut

Well it depends on where they actually reside. That is what is important, since you can get a CHL from another state that you dont actually live in, I would personally go by their DL for their residence. (although there are a couple military exemptions)

3. EWW

EWW Tacoma, WA New Member

I sent this via PM but thought this would benefit the whole board.

FWIW my CPL was issued 6/1/09 with WA state residency listed.

According to WA state law it doesn't matter if I am a resident or not (or even a resident with an out of state DL).

from WA state website:
    So it doesn't matter that I have an out of state DL. WA law allows the sale of firearms to nonresidents, so the fact that I have an out of state DL is a moot point.

Additionally, if you read the WA state Private Disposition/Transfer form http://www.dol.wa.gov/forms/652004.pdf it clearly states that documentation of ID can be issued by another state.

If you are planning to do a FTF transfer you should really know the law on both ends of the transaction, otherwise you should do the peer to peer transfer at an FFL so you don't have to worry about the legalities. I'm passing on the transaction.

4. PhysicsGuy

I dont know how many times I have to say this..

You CANNOT transfer any firearm FTF across state lines. PERIOD

It doesnt matter what the WA law states, it is trumped by the federal statute;

5. DBake

DBake WA Member

Thank you.

6. Cougfan2

Cougfan2 Hillsboro, OR Well-Known Member

I dont know how many times I have to say this..

You CANNOT transfer any firearm FTF across state lines. PERIOD