JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Well it depends on where they actually reside. That is what is important, since you can get a CHL from another state that you dont actually live in, I would personally go by their DL for their residence. (although there are a couple military exemptions)

I sent this via PM but thought this would benefit the whole board.

FWIW my CPL was issued 6/1/09 with WA state residency listed.

According to WA state law it doesn't matter if I am a resident or not (or even a resident with an out of state DL).

from WA state website:
RCW 9.41.124
Purchasing by nonresidents.

Residents of a state other than Washington may purchase rifles and shotguns in Washington: PROVIDED, That such residents conform to the applicable provisions of the federal Gun Control Act of 1968, Title IV, Pub. L. 90-351 as administered by the United States secretary of the treasury: AND PROVIDED FURTHER, That such residents are eligible to purchase or possess such weapons in Washington and in the state in which such persons reside.

So it doesn't matter that I have an out of state DL. WA law allows the sale of firearms to nonresidents, so the fact that I have an out of state DL is a moot point.

Additionally, if you read the WA state Private Disposition/Transfer form http://www.dol.wa.gov/forms/652004.pdf it clearly states that documentation of ID can be issued by another state.

If you are planning to do a FTF transfer you should really know the law on both ends of the transaction, otherwise you should do the peer to peer transfer at an FFL so you don't have to worry about the legalities. I'm passing on the transaction.

I

According to WA state law it doesn't matter if I am a resident or not (or even a resident with an out of state DL).