JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hi guys (and gals),

I've been picking up my brass for almost 6 months now while toying with the idea of reloading. Well, that's looking less likely so thinking about using the trade-in program at Freedom Munitions. Anyone have experience with this? By math, it looks like I need to get at least 9 lbs. into a large flat rate box to break even on the shipping.

Any alternatives? It's almost all 9mm so I know that I'd only get $20 per 1000 on the open market for unwashed cases.

Thanks for any advice.

If 6 months of brass pickup is enough to have you selling your brass then you shoot enough to make reloading pay for itself. There is almost no excuse you can make that we can't help you overcome.

If you're not in a big rush to start reloading then you can sit back and capitalize on the sales that show up starting around Thanksgiving and go into the first of the year.

Get your bullets from Xtreme for about $40 for 500
Primers from a local gun store for about $30 per 1000
Powder from a local gun store for about $27 per lb

That pound of powder should last for more than 1000 reloads and Xtreme runs free shipping deals from time to time so you can easily get 1000 rounds of 9mm loaded for about $137. Of course that ignores tooling cost, but for $28 plus a hammer you could give the Lee Classic Loader a try and upgrade from there as you see fit. Of course you should also enjoy reloading or it would quickly become a chore.

If 6 months of brass pickup is enough to have you selling your brass then you shoot enough to make reloading pay for itself. There is almost no excuse you can make that we can't help you overcome.

If you're not in a big rush to start reloading then you can sit back and capitalize on the sales that show up starting around Thanksgiving and go into the first of the year.