JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I bought a springfield 1911 stainless with an idiot scratch not only on the bottom but up the slide in 2 spots too.
It was my first 1911 so I didn't know about idiot scratches when i bought it used.
I really love this gun,its such a nice shooter and never had a misfire/bad feed with it so
I really would like to clean it up if there is a way to without cerakote or parkerizing it.
I really want it stainless but does anyone know of a way to fix it?maybe some 2000gt sandpaper?wetsand?the good side is i dont have to worry about banging it up a little now but it's such a good gun i would like to fix it and pass it down to my 1st born daughter someday.

also to put an ambi safety on it do i need to modify anything or just put it right in?

Ok. I'm a total newb when it comes to 1911's, but have seen the term "idiot scratch" used several times....so what are we talking about here? Obviously its a scratch in the finish of the slide or frame, but what actions result in said scratch?

-AO

Ok. I'm a total newb when it comes to 1911's, but have seen the term "idiot scratch" used several times....so what are we talking about here? Obviously its a scratch in the finish of the slide or frame, but what actions result in said scratch?

-AO

when field stripping the 1911 you remove the slide stop and it pops right out,but when replacing it it is a little more tricky and newbs will slide it up into place rather than straight in resulting in this ugly drag mark in the trigger area of the frame.hence the name idiot scratch.though it should be newb scratch or rookie scratch we like to make people feel even more stupid for their mistakes by calling them an idiot for it.so everytime you look at the gun you can say"im a fricking idiot!"