JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So I picked up my fishing license last year and only got out a few times. This year I'm not messing around, I've already been out 4 times this year and am getting the itch to go more and more.

I know this is a learning sport and I don't expect to be amazing at it in the middle of winter as a novice.

So, a little bit about me, I'm 34, Oregonian born and raised. I just started shooting and hunting about 4 years ago and fishing has always seemed interesting to me as well but never had the opportunity. I had a pole gifted to me (Daiwa Shock 3500 6'6" medium Daiwa). I picked up some tackle but I was a bit overwhelmed with everything.

I have some bobbers and baithooks, powerbait. 4lb leader line, weights and a Topfort 20pc spinning lures set. I also had some jigjeads? (Sideways hook with round pink head and eyes that soft plastics slide on) but I lost those, more on that later. I need some direction for my next purchases, that wall of colors and beads and cranks and jigs and spoons is a bit daunting. I would like to mainly fish for anything that can be eaten. Panfish sound amazing, but just looking to learn more to catch some.

A few newbie questions.

How do I stop snagging? Ive heard fish like structure, so I aim for structure and Blamo! Snagged. Any suggestions?

So I don't know what lbs my mainline is but it's mono and really stretchy, if I were to guess at least 20lbs. Do I need to, or should I add more of my 4lb leader to it with an uni knot and it's okay to reel that knot up right?

I'm in Salem and have mostly been fishing St Louis ponds and walling pond. I'd prefer to only fish from places that have clean water so the fish can be eaten. If anyone wants to show me the ropes and fish together, let me know.