JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So I want to try fishing for Steelhead and Salmon. I've read ODFW's 2012 regulation booklet, but I'm a complete novice and don't actually have a rod or any gear yet. What do I need to get started?

What length and kind of rod would you suggest?
What type of reel?
gear?
suggestions?
any special advice for a female fisher?

Thanks guys :)

the easiest for a newby is using a float and jig set up. 9 ft to 10 ft rod is best. that way you keep the line off the water longer for better presentation.
open face(spinning) reel is easiest to cast but harder to mend the line and set the hook..
amato publications has a lot of goood books for beginners.
steelheading is very addictive.
go to your local tackle shop. tell them you want 5 jigs that will produce. pink colors work the best for steelhead. get a couple of floats and some lead. they will most likely help you set it up. or just get a book. it's not too hard to set up.
have fun--fish the "seams" on the rivers(read a book, it will explain it)
it might be best to go with a guide the first time to get the hang of it.
have fun

I've got some really nice gear that I will sell cheap. I gave up on river bank fishing and will never use all the stuff. Give me a private message if interested. I am in the Portland area.

Guess it depends on where you're fishing. I fish a smaller river and the creeks from the bank around here. I just use a basic spinning rod with 12lb line and toss spinners and spoons into my favorite holes. If there's a sporting goods store where the people actually know about fishing, ask them. Check out youtube also. In my humble (but usually correct) opinion, a lot of people make it more complicated than it has to be. I go fishing to destress so I like to keep it simple and have been successful a time or two