Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

First rifle selection thread

Discussion in 'Rifle Discussion' started by BrotherGlacius, Apr 1, 2015.

1. BrotherGlacius

BrotherGlacius Portland Member

Hi Everyone,

So I am just getting into the sport. I found I really like the 200+ yard shooting. 100yrds is fun, but I don't see it as a long term range for me. Therefore, I don't think I should go with a .22 as my first rifle. I think I would get bored with it pretty quickly.

To that end, I think I should probably start out with a .223 or possible a 5.56 so that I can fire either (though I suppose a .223 wylde would work as well).

These don't seem to be very common though in a simple bolt action. I really want to keep with bolt actions just as a personal preference. Plus I hope that it will slow down my shooting and save me some money in the long run. So I really do want a gun that will last me for a good long while.

My ultimate goal is to get some WWII rifles as my main guns. But those are just going to have to get put on hold until I am more familiar and schooled with rifle care.

So, suggestions?

Tacticool22 likes this.
  2. Joe13

Joe13 NW of Vancouver Opinionated & Blunt Bronze Supporter 2015 Volunteer 2016 Volunteer

Ruger makes a few

orygun likes this.
  3. ZA_Survivalist

ZA_Survivalist Oregon AK's all day.

Mossberg MVP 5.56, then if you decide to get an AR you have a mag compatible pair.

Im purchasing (one of these days) both the .308 and 5.56 MVP rifles. Why? Because Im very invested in the AR15 and M1A rifles.. If they made a 7.62x39 AK mag version Id be all over it as well.

Tacticool22 likes this.
  4. donovan

donovan Eugene, OR Member