JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
I think this is one aspect of prepping that gets overlooked a lot. Everyone talks about guns and #10 cans. When you're doing a lot of manual labor for shelter and heat and hunting and gathering to survive, someone's gonna get hurt or sick. Even in my day pack I carry ibuprofin, immodium, antiseptics and bandages. Gotta think about long term situations also where the injuries and illnesses will be far worse

Looks like a good site! Thanks for sharing.

I'm a firm believer in having alternatives to the 911 system. I'm a firefighter and it doesn't take much to overwhelm the system. Luckily, in a normal day, neighboring jurisdictions provide automatic aid to cover a department that's on a large response. However, in a regional disaster ALL agencies will be overwhelmed and unable to assist their neighbors.

First aid is just one of the areas we need to train in to be able to provide for our communities. Consider other training like the CERT programs that are available through the local fire departments.

Building slightly on what Fyrediver said, if you have the time and inclination, I highly recommend signing up at your local community college for an EMT course. Even if you don't go on to get your EMT certification it will do a lot to expose you to the procedures, liabilities, techniques, and skills that you may need when dealing with different types of injuries.