JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I was looking at ferrocerium rods online and i was wondering what do u look at when looking for a good one. I have no experience with them so i dont know what materials or whatever makeup a good one. If you have links to good sources that would be great also.

Are you wanting to make your own firestarter kits? Are you trying to make a flint striker deal?

I don't know where to get bulk rod, but maybe from Airgas, or a welding distributor.

There are two basic types: a regular ferro rod throws sparks. This is the most common type. Light My Fire brand Swedish Firesteels found at REI are this type.

The 2nd type are called Misch Metal and they throw globs of molten metal that stay burning longer and will light harder to light tinder. They also get worn down faster and require a sharper striker. Misch metal has magnesium in it which helps it burn longer.

Firesteel / Ferro Rod Blanks : Going Gear, Gearing you up for the outdoors

I prefer rods that have some type of storage in the handle so that you can keep tinder with it at all times. These are made with the more conventional, spark-throwing rods:

StrikeForce Fire Starter Orange [uststrikeforceor] - $23.95 : Going Gear, Gearing you up for the outdoors

RAT Cutlery Fire Kit - Mil-Spec Green Anodized Fire Starter - Knifecenter.com The deslcription says misch metal, but the manufacturer has switched to a conventional ferro rod.